Skip to content
IndieMakerList

compare --vibe-coding · prices checked Nov 3, 2026

Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot: which is better for vibe coding? (2026)

Claude Code is Anthropic's agent for working across a repo from a terminal, IDE or desktop app, using Claude models only. GitHub Copilot is a multi-model assistant in many IDEs with agent mode and a cloud agent, metered in AI credits from $10/mo.

Who should pick which

Choose Claude Code if:

  • You want an agent that runs long multi-file tasks on its own.
  • You want the Claude-native toolset (skills, hooks, subagents).
  • You work a lot in the terminal.

Choose GitHub Copilot if:

  • You want the cheapest paid plan and many models.
  • You want to stay in Xcode, Visual Studio or Eclipse.
  • You want to assign GitHub issues to an agent.

Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot: side by side

Every cell comes from the official pages listed under Sources.

Claude Code GitHub Copilot
TypeCoding agentAI IDE / editor
Made byAnthropic (San Francisco)GitHub (Microsoft)
Best forNon-coders and developersDevelopers
Free planNo. The Claude Free plan does not include Claude Code; access needs Pro, Max, Ultra, Team, Enterprise or a pay-as-you-go Claude Console (API) account.Yes. Free: 2,000 completions/month, limited chat and agent usage, auto model selection only, Copilot CLI and agent mode; no credit card.
Paid from$20/mo (Claude Pro)$10/mo
Pricing modelsubscription or usage (API pay-as-you-go)subscription + usage credits (1 AI credit = $0.01; extra credits purchasable)
Buildscodecode, pull requests, code reviews
Tech stackany language (edits your repo)Any language/framework: works in your repo/IDE.
Hosting & deployNo built-in hosting; it runs your own deploy commands/CLIs (e.g. Vercel, Fly, git push) and can run in CI via GitHub Actions or GitLab.No built-in app hosting; you deploy yourself, typically through GitHub Actions or your own host.
Code ownershiplocal repoYour local files and your GitHub repositories.
AI modelsAnthropic Claude models only (Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5; Fable on Max and above); also via Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud and Microsoft FoundryOfficially listed models include Anthropic Claude (Haiku, Sonnet, Opus, Fable), OpenAI GPT-5.x/GPT-6.x, Google Gemini 3.7/3.8 Flash and Gemini 4 Argon, xAI Grok 4.5–4.7, Microsoft MAI-Code and Kimi K3. Free uses auto model selection only.
Runs onterminal (macOS, Linux, Windows), VS Code and JetBrains extensions, Claude desktop app, web (claude.ai/code), iOS/Android, Slack, GitHub Actions, GitLab CIVS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains, Xcode, Eclipse, Neovim, Zed, Raycast, SSMS; github.com and GitHub Mobile; Copilot CLI.
Indie makers here100

Key differences

  • Price: Copilot Pro is $10/mo; Claude Code starts with Claude Pro at $20/mo.
  • Models: Copilot offers Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and others; Claude Code is Claude only.
  • Free: Copilot Free includes limited agent use; Claude Code has no free plan.
  • Limits: Copilot uses monthly AI credits; Claude plans use 5-hour and weekly limits.

Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot pricing

From each official pricing page, Nov 3, 2026.

Claude Code plans · checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official pricing page
PlanPriceWhat you get
Pro$20/mo$17/mo billed annually ($200 up front); includes Claude Code; usage limits reset every 5 hours and weekly
Max$100/mo5x Pro usage; includes $100/mo in Claude Platform API credits
Ultra$200/mo10x Pro usage per week, no 5-hour limit for verified accounts; includes $200/mo in API credits
Team (Standard seat)$25/seat/mo$20/seat/mo billed annually; 2–150 seats; Claude Code included
Team (Premium seat)$125/seat/mo$100/seat/mo billed annually
Enterprise$20/seat/mo + usageBilled annually, 20-seat minimum; usage billed on top
API (Claude Console)Pay per tokenStandard API rates, e.g. Sonnet 5.5 $2/$10 per MTok, Opus 5.5 $4/$20 per MTok
GitHub Copilot plans · checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official pricing page
PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$02,000 completions/mo; limited chat/agent usage.
Pro$10/user/mo1,500 AI credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) = $15 value; unlimited completions; cloud agent and code review; model selection.
Pro+$39/user/mo7,000 AI credits/mo (3,900 base + 3,100 flex) = $70 value; premium models incl. Opus; delegate to third-party agents (Claude, Codex).
Max$100/user/mo20,000 AI credits/mo (10,000 base + 10,000 flex) = $200 value; priority access to new models.

Claude Code: limits to know

  • Locked to Anthropic models
  • Not on the free Claude plan
  • Subscription usage capped by 5-hour and weekly limits that vary by model
  • No hosting or database included; you bring your own deploy target

GitHub Copilot: limits to know

  • Agent, chat, cloud agent and CLI usage use up monthly AI credits; heavy agent sessions on frontier models use them quickly
  • The 'flex' part of the allowance is variable and may change over time
  • Unused credits don't roll over; the allowance resets on the 1st of each month (UTC)
  • Code review and the cloud agent consume GitHub Actions minutes

What indie makers use

10 makers list Claude Code, including Corey Haines, Ian Nuttall and Mckay Wrigley. No maker on IndieMakerList lists GitHub Copilot in their stack yet. Counts come from the stack each maker lists on their IndieMakerList profile.

More comparisons

All comparisons →

Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot FAQ

Is Claude Code better than GitHub Copilot?

Neither is better for everyone. Claude Code is Anthropic's agent for working across a repo from a terminal, IDE or desktop app, using Claude models only. GitHub Copilot is a multi-model assistant in many IDEs with agent mode and a cloud agent, metered in AI credits from $10/mo. Choose Claude Code if you want an agent that runs long multi-file tasks on its own. Choose GitHub Copilot if you want the cheapest paid plan and many models.

Which is cheaper, Claude Code or GitHub Copilot?

Claude Code paid use starts at $20/mo (Claude Pro) and GitHub Copilot at $10/mo (official pricing pages, checked Nov 3, 2026). Claude Code has no free plan for building; GitHub Copilot has free plan.

Which is better for non-coders, Claude Code or GitHub Copilot?

Claude Code is aimed at non-coders and developers: Built for developers working in a real repo, but its plain-language prompts and desktop/web apps make it usable by non-coders willing to work with files and a terminal. GitHub Copilot is aimed at developers: Suits developers already on GitHub and in mainstream IDEs who want low-cost agent and completion support.

Do indie makers use Claude Code or GitHub Copilot?

On IndieMakerList, 10 makers list Claude Code in their stack and 0 makers list GitHub Copilot. 10 makers list Claude Code, including Corey Haines, Ian Nuttall and Mckay Wrigley. No maker on IndieMakerList lists GitHub Copilot in their stack yet.

Sources

Official pages were read on Nov 3, 2026. Prices change often; check the vendor's page before you buy.

  1. Claude pricing
  2. Claude Code product page
  3. Claude Code quickstart
  4. Claude API pricing
  5. Anthropic Series G (Feb 12, 2026)
  6. Anthropic acquires Bun as Claude Code hits $1B
  7. Anthropic newsroom
  8. GitHub Copilot plans
  9. Usage-based billing for individuals (GitHub Docs)
What we couldn't confirm from an official source
  • No newer Claude Code-specific run-rate than Feb 2026 found on an official page
  • Exact date of the Bun acquisition post (Dec 2025) taken from search listing, page not opened
  • Default model in Claude Code is not stated on the pages fetched
  • Claude Code product page says Team includes up to $500/mo in pooled API credits; not shown on the pricing page
  • Exact date the AI Credits model replaced 'premium requests' (not stated on the pages fetched)
  • Business/Enterprise per-seat prices (business tab not captured)
  • Annual pricing for Pro/Pro+/Max
  • Copilot Student plan details beyond unlimited completions